Skip to Content

The 4Ms Explained

A movement to create Age-Friendly Health Systems is underway in the United States. The goal is to create health systems that ensure every older adult receives the best care possible, is not harmed by care, and is satisfied with the care they receive. Using the 4Ms framework brings focus to What Matters, Medication, Mentation, and Mobility, and when put into practice, this framework is a success.

The 4m's explained.


What Matters to each older adult, their goals and preferences for care, guides the health care team, and aligns care to what really matters to them.


Age-related changes can increase the chances of side effects from medications. The health team monitors all medications, decides if medications are still necessary, and ensures older adults’ medications do not interfere with What Matters, Mentation, or Mobility.

MENTATION (Mind and Mood)

Mental processing, thinking and memory are important! The health team pays attention this this aspect of care, screening for changes that could be related to dementia, depression and delirium.


Staying active and moving daily is how older adults stay strong, maintain function, and do What Matters. The health care team ensures safe mobility to keep older adults moving.

Age-Friendly Health Systems is an initiative of the Institute for Healthcare Improvement (IHI) and The John A. Hartford Foundation in partnership with the American Hospital Association (AHA) and the Catholic Health Association of the United States (CHA). The goal of this initiative is to spread the 4M framework to 1,000 US hospitals and medical practices by December 2020. – IHI

What is an Age-Friendly Health System?

The Key Components of Age-Friendly Care

JOIN the Age-Friendly Health System Movement.